The Seven Stages Of Block Play


Nearly 100 years ago pioneering early learning caregiver and researcher, Harriet Johnson, observed 7 distinct stages of play children progress through as they engage with blocks. This session takes a look at that researcher, the stages she observed, and what you can do to better support children as they move through each stage.

This free training is brought to you by Platte Valley Early Learning Connection

Note: The session qualifies as approved Nebraska Department Of Education Office Of Early Childhood Automatically Accepted ECE In-Service Training

95 in stock


Learning Goals

Attendees will:

  • Learn about Harriet Johnson and her contributions to early learning
  • Understand the 7 stages of block play
  • Leave with ideas for supporting play in each of the 7 stages

Competency Area

Planning Learning Experiences And Curriculum


60 Minutes


  • 9:00 PM Atlantic
  • 8:00 PM Eastern
  • 7:00 PM Central
  • 6:00 PM Mountain
  • 5:00 PM Pacific

Event Details

Date: May 13, 2021

Start time: 07:00 p.m. CDT

End time: 08:00 CDT

Venue: ZOOM Meeting Platform

Directions: Log on for the event at least 5 minutes before start time at the link provided in the email you'll receive after registering.